Moving Pieces of the Sea

by The Crooked Fiddle Band

supported by


Moving Pieces of the Sea is the second album by The Crooked Fiddle Band. Written on tour around the fjords of Norway and lakes of Finland, the album takes the band's reputation for intense, ecstatic energy and imbues it with a crystalline, cinematic expansiveness.

The album and opening track take their name from a letter by French ocean pioneer Jacques Cousteau to his son:

'Twilight was turning to sheer darkness, and our structures became eerie shadows. The fish were just moving pieces of the sea. I smiled because I would always seek after the vanishing shapes of a better world"
- Jaques Cousteau, 1963


released October 1, 2013

All tracks written by The Crooked Fiddle Band © 2013.

Jess Randall: violin, nyckelharpa, vocals.
Gordon Wallace: guitar, guizouki, cittern, vocals.
Mark Stevens: double bass, bass marimba on ‘Kilimanjaro’.
Joe Gould: Drum kit, udu, bass drum, kalimba, marimba, vocals.

Vocals on Track 2: Jess and Gordon
Vocals on Track 5: Joe
Vocals on Track 6: Gordon
Vocals on Track 7: Jess and Joe

Recorded to 24 track tape at Electrical Audio, Chicago, January 17-31, 2013.

Engineered and mixed by Steve Albini with additional recording by Greg Norman and Jon San Paolo @ Electrical Audio

Mastered by JJ Golden at Golden Mastering, California.

Russell Rolen: Cello on Tracks 1, 4, 5, 6 & 7.

Gordon plays Gilet Guitars, Fylde Citterns and Wheeler Custom Lutherie Guizoukis.
Jess’ nyckelharpa is made by Lennart Lovdin.

Cover art photo shoot:
Photography: Yanni Kronenberg
Miniatures Director: Jack McGrath/Conceptavision
Model: Leila Eqbal with arms by Emily Constantine, Laura Wilson and Mirabai Peart.
Make-up: Amanda Michelle Le Couteur
Photo Shoot helpers: Jack McGrath, Tawfik Elgazzar, Greg Le Couteur, Dave Carr, Sarah Steel and The Crooked Fiddle Band.

Model Makers: Jack McGrath, Tawfik Elgazzar, Greg Le Couteur, Dave Carr, Sarah Steel, Lynne Trunzo, Elizabeth Carr, Dan Stanley Freeman, Penny Coleman, Chris Hayden, Daisy De Windt, Vivien Jeffery and The Crooked Fiddle Band.

Graphic design : Cathy Kirkpatrick.



all rights reserved